2015 Chapter Officers

Board of Directors

Mark Boucher, C.I.D.

Peter Cerbone

Robin Dupree

Gary Koven C.I.D.

T.J. May

Nick Mescia

Dave Seymour

Short History of the Chapter

The RTP Chapter of the IPC Designers Council was started in January 2000 with a kickoff meeting attended by interested designers, fabricators, and assemblers. The kickoff of the chapter was the culmination of many months of planning and preparation by Steve Trasatto, a Senior PCB Designer at Ericsson.
Trasatto had moved to the RTP area in 1996 and was interested in joining a Designers Council chapter as a way of continuing to improve his knowledge of the PCB design profession as well as a way to network with the PCB community in the Research Triangle area. He was surprised that a chapter did not already exist in the area which was so rich with electronics companies both large and small. The Ericsson business unit that Trasatto worked in was disbanded in late 1999, and this event gave him time and incentive to arrrange the kickoff meeting with the help of Doug McGrigor and UPMedia, which advertised the meeting to their readers of PCB Design magazine in the area.
The kickoff meeting sponsored by Valor was a rousing success with over 40 people attending and a presentation on the Designers Council by the then Executive Director of the DC, Gary Ferrari. The meeting generated much interest in moving forward with the chapter. Interim officers and a Steering Committee were formed to run and guide the chapter. Steve Trasatto took the presidency, Gary Koven was the Secretary, Ed Valentine the Treasurer, Anthony Mack the chapter Webmaster, Doug McGrigor Membership officer, and the VP was vacant. It was decided to continue with this slate of officers until January of 2001 when formal elections would be held.